Kumquaty It

let food be thy medicine

Kumquaty Cornbread (gluten free/dairy free/sweetener free) February 14, 2013

Filed under: Recipes — kumquaty @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

corn bread

I really, really, really wanted some southern food and I needed it fast. So I ordered pot roast, green beans, and apples from a local restaurant. But before I did I threw this recipe together and baked it off real fast…because you can’t have southern cooking without some cornbread or biscuits (I haven’t tried making coconut biscuits yet).

Kumquaty Corn Bread
(makes 8 wedges in a pie dish)

dry ingredients:
1 cup coarse cornmeal
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp baking soda

wet ingredients:
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 snack cup unsweetened apple sauce
1 cup coconut milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together dry ingredients. Add in wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Pour into greased baking dish (8×8 square or a pie dish) Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Serve with grass fed butter and if you wish some local honey. I think next time I might try replacing out the brown rice flour with something else, like teff, I could smell it when it came out the oven.

See me and other cool sites on Food Renegade

 

Leave a comment