Kumquaty It

let food be thy medicine

Kumquaty Pulled Pork April 12, 2013

Filed under: Recipes — kumquaty @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

pulled pork

We love pulled pork! I am quite content with just throwing Sweet Baby Ray in a crock pot with some pork but my husband (JQ) thinks it’s sickeningly sweet so I decided to try to cut the sweetness of the BBQ sauce with some more vinegary flavors and came up with something surprisingly fantastic. JQ likes to make clear his praise so that I won’t think he’s just being nice there is

I’m sorry I can’t eat this
It’s good
I would be very happy if I was at a restaurant and ordered this
This is the best insert item I have ever had

This was a “I would be very happy if I was at a restaurant and ordered this.” Yay!!! It had a very familiar taste which we spent some time trying to figure out….It tastes like a subway sandwich…strange but delicious!

Kumquaty Pulled Pork

2 tbs olive oil
1/2 onion diced
2 garlic cloves minced
1 bell pepper diced
1 cup store bought bbq sauce (my favorite is sweet baby ray’s)
2 tbs Worcestershire sauce
3 tbs yellow mustard
2 lbs pork

Serve with mayo, banana pepper, pickled jalapeno peppers and potatoes

Heat olive oil (i used my own homemade garlic infused olive oil) in a dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion and cook until translucent then add garlic and green pepper and cook until green pepper is softened. Add BBQ sauce, yellow mustard and Worcestershire sauce, stir. Add the pork and cover with sauce. Bring to a simmer, put the lid on the dutch oven and simmer for 2 hours. Once done pull or chop the pork. Serve over potatoes which I boiled, sliced thin and cooked in a cast iron pan with olive oil until it had a nice brown. Season potatoes with salt and pepper or season all. Then put it all onto a plate with some banana peppers and pickled jalapeno peppers and a dollop of mayo yum yum you could probably also use sour cream instead.

 

Leave a Reply

