Kumquaty It

let food be thy medicine

Tropical Traditions Virgin Coconut Oil- Review February 24, 2013

Filed under: Reviews — kumquaty @ 1:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I have seen two main brands of coconut oil mentioned on blogs. Nutiva and Tropical Traditions. I never have used either and really wanted to do a review comparing the two so I wrote to both companies to have them send me a sample of each that way it could be an unbiased side by side comparison. Tropical Tradition immediately sent by a sample as well as a chance to have a giveaway (!!! coming soon) and Nutiva responded by saying my blog wasn’t good enough (popular enough) for them…..

So unfortunately this will only be a review of Tropical traditions since I am currently passively boycotting Nutiva.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tropical traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil


4 stars out of 5

This is very good as a versatile coconut oil, for certain things I would like a stronger smell and coconut flavor but it is mild enough to cook and bake things that I would not like to be over powered with a coconut theme but it isn’t so refined and devoid of obvious coconuttyness that I’m afraid of what they did with it.

Container– not the cutest but it does look reputable
Flavor for eating straight– smells good like coconut but does not have a strong coconut flavor so it goes down easy and if you don’t like the flavor of coconut you can just hold your breath 🙂
Flavor for stirring into coffee– not a strong flavor change to the coffee but it smells more of coconut than I expected probably because the heat of the coffee brings the smell to my nose
Flavor for cooking– mild enough to be used for cooking almost anything. I haven’t tried it yet with a white fish or a really mild flavored dish yet. It might be too coconutty for that but mostly unrecognizable
Flavor for baking– great for baked goods
Flavor for popcorn– I usually like a stronger coconut flavor for my popcorn but still tastes like a nice movie theater style buttered popcorn when sea salt is added
For skin- Absorbs well and only has a faint smell (or taste if you are using it on your lips)

If you want to buy your own Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil and do so from this link I get a gift certificate. Yay me! and if its your first time ordering from them they say they give you a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil. Yay you!

It is too cool how they get the coconut oil out of the coconut too, I’m really impressed. They use the water from the coconut itself to wet mill and they don’t use any fancy high technology but just do it the way the locals in the Philippians traditionally…read more about that here

I also like the FAQ on Tropical Traditions that explains the differences between the different grade of coconut oil they sell

I received this sample to review for free from Tropical Traditions but the review is based on my person use and love of coconut oil. But I did have to add the disclaimer below which I find funny…seriously who wouldn’t want to give a free giveaway.

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product give away in return for the free product

 

Leave a Reply

