Kumquaty It

let food be thy medicine

Kumquaty “Mexican” Turkey Casserole….and a poblano gone wrong February 15, 2013

Filed under: Recipes — kumquaty @ 9:17 am
Tags: , , , ,

poblano-chili-pepper

So I love poblanos and really wanted to make some sort of chili rellnos. Of course this is the week….this is the ONLY week that they had not a single poblano… grrrr… the grocer said the shipment would come in 3 days. I returned and still no poblanos! But in the meantime I did a google search to find out which dried pepper in the international section equalled my beloved poblano and the answer is….passila? so technically I found out that a pasilla is not a poblano but it gets mislabeled in America as such. So I swiped a big bag of pasilla peppers. Online I saw that at least one other person has tried making chili rellenos out of rehydrated pasillas and it looked pretty good, so what could go wrong? Well as you can see by the title of this post I did not get the end result of a chili rellnos 😦 Rehydrating went fine, stuffing came out fine, the problem came to filling the rehydrated chilis with the stuffing….these were the tiniest poblanos in the world! and I just ended up making a big mess of the first four….so I decied to make a casserole….and it tastes great! I didn’t want to name it a turkey casserole because that brings to mind for me a can of condensed cream soup and I didn’t really want to name it a mexican casserole because I’m not mexican…..so I guess I call it my pasilla turkey casserole??

turkey casserole

Kumquaty Pasilla Turkey Casserole

3 cups cooked turkey or chicken (I had leftover turkey that I made awhile back)
8 oz pepper jack cheese sliced thin
1 large jar of green salsa
6 pasilla peppers
1 head brocoli
6 oz “mexican” cheese blend shredded
boiling water
Sour cream (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Soak pasilla peppers in boiling water for 10 minutes (you may have to weigh them down to make sure they all stay submerged under the water. Cut the brocoli into small florets and steam. Once the peppers are rehydrated cut a slit in the peppers and pull out the seeds. In a casserole dish lay the fileted peppers in a single layer. Chop up the turkey into bite sized pieces and stir together with the steamed brocoli florets, mexican shredded cheese, and green salsa. Put on top of the peppers in the casserole dish. Cover with the sliced pepperjack cheese. Put in oven for a minimum of 30 mins or until cheese if browned and bubbling. Serve with sour cream.

[image of poblano from chilipeppermadness.com]

 

Leave a Reply

