Kumquaty It

let food be thy medicine

My first attempt at wheat free baking January 15, 2013

Filed under: Recipes — kumquaty @ 11:10 pm

So during my detox journey I came across a book that I currently like (my fancy changes frequently) Wheat Belly

and in it I found a recipe I wanted to try called Pumpkin spice muffins I tweaked it a little and was amazed by the results…I never knew that baking soda could make something without wheat rise.

My modified Kumquaty Pumpkin Spice Muffins
Makes 12 small muffins

1 1/2 cups ground almonds (can be purchased pre-ground)
1/2 cup chestnut flour (nice sweet taste)
1⁄4 cup ground flaxseeds (can be purchased pre-ground)
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla
1 teaspoon baking powder
Dash of fine sea salt
1 can (15 ounces) unsweetened pumpkin puree
1⁄2 cup coconut milk
2 large eggs
1⁄4 cup olive oil

Preheat the oven to 325F. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin with oil. Stir together the almond meal, chestnut flour, ground flaxseeds, spices, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Stir together the pumpkin, coconut milk, eggs, and oil in another large bowl. Stir the pumpkin mixture into the almond meal mixture and mix thoroughly. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling them about half full. Bake until a toothpick inserted in a muffin comes out dry, about 45 minutes. Cool the muffins in the pans for 10 to 15 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool completely.

just learned these should be kept in the fridge they are very moist and mold easily, certainly one could add a sweetener but I chose not to since I was on my sugar detox

 

Leave a Reply

